UK’s Anti Europe Party Wins in Local Elections

Britain’s anti-EU UKIP party has made strong gains in local elections, taking seats from both Prime Minister David Cameron’s Conservatives and the opposition Labour party, according to early results on Friday.

The gains by the UK Independence Party, which wants Britain to leave the EU, will pile pressure on Cameron to stiffen his approach to Europe and alarm some in his party who worry UKIP could scupper its hopes of winning a 2015 national vote.

In a sign the party could also do well in elections to the European Parliament, held on the same day, UKIP won 86 new seats in local elections in England, according to partial results from around a third of councils.

Labour won 94 new seats, the Conservatives lost 101 and the Liberal Democrats lost 84, according to early results.

via CNBC

This article is for general information purposes only. It is not investment advice or a solution to buy or sell securities. Opinions are the authors; not necessarily that of OANDA Corporation or any of its affiliates, subsidiaries, officers or directors. Leveraged trading is high risk and not suitable for all. You could lose all of your deposited funds.

Alfonso Esparza

Alfonso Esparza

Senior Currency Analyst at Market Pulse
Alfonso Esparza specializes in macro forex strategies for North American and major currency pairs. Upon joining OANDA in 2007, Alfonso Esparza established the MarketPulseFX blog and he has since written extensively about central banks and global economic and political trends. Alfonso has also worked as a professional currency trader focused on North America and emerging markets. He has been published by The MarketWatch, Reuters, the Wall Street Journal and The Globe and Mail, and he also appears regularly as a guest commentator on networks including Bloomberg and BNN. He holds a finance degree from the Monterrey Institute of Technology and Higher Education (ITESM) and an MBA with a specialization on financial engineering and marketing from the University of Toronto.
Alfonso Esparza